- Biomedical Waste
- Body Piercing
- Dead Birds
- Disaster Response
- Drinking Water
- Fee Schedule
- Food Hygiene
- Mobile Home Parks
- Petroleum Clean-up
- Petroleum Storage Tank
- Private & Public Schools
- Rabies Surveillance
- Onsite Sewage Disposal
- Pools and Spas
- Water Quality Research
- Environmental Toxicology
Biomedical Waste Inspection Program
Downtown Service Center, 1300 West Gregory Street, Pensacola, FL 32502
The Biomedical Waste Inspection Program is designed to protect the public from risks associated with potentially infectious biomedical waste. This is conducted by regulating the generation, transport, storage and treatment of biomedical waste through processes other than incineration. The Department of Environmental Protection has primary responsibility for biomedical waste incineration and final disposal.
The governing authority for this program is Florida Statute 381.0098 and Florida Administrative Code 64E-16 (60.33kb; pdf).
Inspected facilities in Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa and Walton counties include, but are not limited to the following:
- Body piercing salons
- Dental clinics
- Electrolysis clinics
- Funeral homes
- Medical clinics
- Nursing homes
- Storage and treatment facilities
- Tattoo establishments
- Transporters of biomedical waste
- Veterinarian clinics
- Dialysis Clinics
- Blood Banks
- Medical Doctors Offices
- Abortion Clinics
- Home Health Agencies
- IV Therapy facilities
Facilities who generate more than 25 pounds of biomedical waste in a 30 day period are required to purchase an annual operating permit. Biomedical Waste Permit Application (117.6kb; pdf)
Other Permit Applications:
Inspections every three years:
Facilities that produce less than 25 pounds in a 30 day period (and can document this for a minimum of one year) can apply for an exemption from permitting and fee requirements. Continued documentation of monthly biomedical waste weights is required to remain an exempt facility.
The Inspection process entails, but is not limited to:
- Handling of waste
- Labeling of waste
- Location of waste
- Storage of waste
- Transport of waste
- Manifests and records
A Biomedical Waste Generator Permit is issued after:
- Permit application is submitted to department.
- Payment of fee (fee schedule).
- Successful completion of “opening” and subsequent health inspections.
- Proof (or Documentation) of required training approved by the Department of Health.
- Facility-specific Biomedical Waste Operating Plan must be in place.
- Biomedical Waste Transporter must be in place.
*Note: All persons employed who handle biomedical waste are required to have initial and annual refresher training.
Read the Home Sharps Disposal Guidelines for information on how to properly dispose of home-generated biomedical waste.
Location & Contact Information
Downtown Service Center, 1300 West Gregory Street
The Biomedical Waste Inspection office is open Monday - Friday from 8 AM to 4:30 PM. Call 850-595-6700 for more information.